Ultimate Responsive Image Slider Plugin Powered By Weblizar

Nathan Mayhew Schoolhouse

The Nathan Mayhew Schoolhouse was built in 1828 and is the Island’s oldest one room schoolhouse. The building was owned by the Daughters of the American Revolution for fifty years and operated as a nautical museum. It now serves as the Morgan Learning Center, a seasonal educational space for the Martha’s Vineyard Museum. The iconic flagpole erected in front of the schoolhouse commemorates an act of patriotism during the Revolutionary War. A plaque attached to the pole names three Holmes Hole women who got dynamite from the armory and blew up the town flagpole to prevent the British from using it as a spar for their warship.

Built: 1828

Nathan Mayhew Schoolhouse

icon-car.pngKML-LogoFullscreen-LogoQR-code-logoGeoJSON-LogoGeoRSS-Logo
Nathan Mayhew Schoolhouse, 110 Main Street, Vineyard Haven, MA, United States

loading map - please wait...

Nathan Mayhew Schoolhouse, 110 Main Street, Vineyard Haven, MA, United States 41.456775, -70.603289

Public street parking